

MEETING MINUTES

Council Chambers January 28, 2025

PRESENT Scott Brown, Tanya Cabala, Debra Hillebrand, Jeff Holmstrom, Steve Salter, Steve

Sikkenga and Tom Ziemer

ABSENT None

ALSO PRESENT Scott Huebler, Brenda Bourdon, Will Meier, Roger Squiers

Mayor Salter called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Motion by Cabala, seconded by Hillebrand to approve the agenda.

Voice Vote: All yeses MOTION CARRIED

APPROVAL OF THE CONSENT AGENDA

A. Approval of the January 14, 2025 Work Session & Council Meeting Minutes

B. Accounts Payable \$211,812.88

C. Communications: WESTPLAN Policy Committee Minutes, White Lake Senior Center

Motion by Holmstrom, seconded by Sikkenga to approve the Consent Agenda.

Voice Vote: All yeses MOTION CARRIED

MESSAGES FROM THE MAYOR, COUNCIL, AND CITY MANAGER

Messages were received from Council members.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Eric Harsh updated the council on the ongoing delays in restoring his storm-damaged home and urged them to show greater compassion.

Christina Normadin made critical remarks regarding snow removal.

Norm Kittleson praised the Playhouse, highlighting its positive impact on the community's quality of life. Terrance Leonard voiced his opposition to the city owning the Playhouse.

Tamara Horne expressed her strong interest in serving on the Planning Commission, emphasizing her qualifications.

Edd Whalen advocated for the continued support of the Playhouse.

Jim Schmidt opposed the use of taxpayer funds to support the Playhouse.

OLD BUSINESS

None

NEW BUSINESS

A. Appointments

Motion by Ziemer, seconded by Sikkenga to address each board separately and discuss as needed.

Voice Vote: Yes – 6: Sikkenga, Brown, Holmstrom, Ziemer, Hillebrand, and Cabala;

No – 1: Salter; Absent – None MOTION CARRIED

1. Board of Review

Motion by Ziemer, seconded by Cabala to reappoint Greg Means to the Board of Review.

Voice Vote: All yeses MOTION CARRIED

2. Marina

Motion by Ziemer, seconded by Brown to withdraw Ziemer from Marina. Motion and second withdrawn.

Clarification was made that the appointment to Marina needed to be a council member or Planning Commission member (currently held by Jeff Holmstrom).

3. Zoning Board of Appeals

Motion by Ziemer, seconded by Sikkenga to reappoint Greg Hillebrand and appoint Scott Brown to the Zoning Board of Appeals.

Voice Vote: All yeses MOTION CARRIED

4. Brownfield Redevelopment Authority

Motion by Holmstrom, seconded by Sikkenga to reappoint Erin Peyer and appoint Brett Sabourin and CJ VanWieren to the Brownfield Redevelopment Authority.

Voice Vote: All yeses MOTION CARRIED

Motion by Ziemer, seconded by Cabala, to recommend consideration by the mayor to appoint Debi Hillebrand to fill the vacancy on the Brownfield Redevelopment Authority.

Voice Vote: Yes – 6: Sikkenga, Brown, Holmstrom, Ziemer, Hillebrand, and Cabala;

No – 1: Salter; Absent – None MOTION CARRIED

Mayor Salter chose not to accept the recommendation.

5. Local Development Finance Authority

Motion by Ziemer, seconded by Brown, to confirm appointments for Tom Moore, CJ Van Wieren, and Dan Rinsema-Sybenga and reappoint Erin Peyer to the Local Development Finance Authority.

Voice Vote: Yes – 6: Sikkenga, Brown, Holmstrom, Ziemer, Hillebrand, and Salter;

No – 1: Cabala; Absent – None MOTION CARRIED

6. Local Officers Compensation Commission

Motion by Ziemer, seconded by Holmstrom, to reappoint Debbie Elliott and appoint Wendy Anderson to the Local Officers Compensation Commission.

Voice Vote: All yeses

MOTION CARRIED

7. Planning Commission

Motion by Ziemer, seconded by Brown, to reappoint Dan Bowyer to the Planning Commission.

Voice Vote: All yeses

MOTION CARRIED

Motion by Cabala, seconded by Ziemer, to recommend consideration by the mayor to appoint Tamara Horne to the Planning Commission.

Voice Vote: Yes – 6: Sikkenga, Brown, Holmstrom, Ziemer, Hillebrand, and Cabala; No – 1: Salter; Absent – None MOTION CARRIED

Mayor Salter chose not to accept the recommendation.

8. Tax Increment Finance Authority

Motion by Ziemer, seconded by Sikkenga, to reappoint Erin Peyer and appoint CJ Van Wieren to the Tax Increment Finance Authority.

Voice Vote: Yes – 6: Sikkenga, Brown, Holmstrom, Ziemer, Hillebrand, and Salter;

No - 1: Cabala; Absent - None

MOTION CARRIED

Motion by Sikkenga, seconded by Ziemer, to recommend consideration by the mayor to appoint Debi Hillebrand, Scott Brown, or Tom Ziemer to the Tax Increment Finance Authority.

Voice Vote: Yes – 6: Sikkenga, Brown, Holmstrom, Ziemer, Hillebrand, and Cabala;

No - 1: Salter; Absent - None

MOTION CARRIED

Mayor Salter chose not to accept the recommendation.

B. Walk the Beat Request

Motion by Brown, seconded by Cabala to approve the extended closure of the North Mears Promenade for the Walk the Beat after party event ending at 10 pm on July 19, 2025.

Voice Vote: All yeses

MOTION CARRIED

C. Resolution 25-05 - Budget Amendment #2

Motion by Holmstrom, seconded by Sikkenga, to approve the budget amendments as presented.

Roll Call Vote: Yes – Holmstrom, Sikkenga, Cabala, Hillebrand, Ziemer, and Salter;

No - Brown; Absent - None

MOTION CARRIED

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

Motion by Holmstrom, seconded by Cabala, to appoint Debi Hillebrand to the Marina Advisory Committee.

Voice Vote: Yes — 6: Sikkenga, Brown, Holmstrom, Ziemer, Hillebrand, and Cabala; No — 1: Salter; Absent — None MOTION CARRIED

ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Salter adjourned the Council Meeting at 7:27 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Brenda Bourdon, City Clerk